My GUADEC experience

It’s been three days since I got back home and I have to say that I already miss being there with all the GNOME community :).

I actually didn’t know how this experience would be. I had never actually been to a GNOME meeting before and all my interaction with the community was purely online.

But man, the whole trip was great. I met really awesome, fun and amazing people that I would enjoy working with. And we actually did that, as some of the time was actually spent rebasing and rewriting the git history of my GSoC project :D.

I was amazed by how friendly everybody was and how quickly I integrated myself into the community. They made it so much easier. It didn’t take more than a few minutes until we started having beer together and cracking jokes. And this was just the first night when I had just arrived there.

The core days involved attending talks throughout the day (with a lunch break and several smaller ones in between the talks). I even volunteered to film two of the presentations and it was fun. I even had my own lightning talk, during which I presented my GSoC work.

The next three days had a schedule that was a bit more relaxed, the BOFs were quite interesting and I learnt quite e few interesting things during them.

I would really like to thank the GNOME foundation for sponsoring me on this trip and for giving me this awesome opportunity!

sponsored-badge-simple

 

One thought on “My GUADEC experience

Leave a Reply

